Future Work–Dighum

I was lucky to be able to use the flip camera multiple times during my student teaching. This allowed me to implicate ideas and suggestions the next time around to help promote student learning.  For instance, having the students fill out a chart while watching the second set of videos was a piece of advice given to me, and it proved to be a great tool to make sure that A. students were paying attention, and B. getting the necessary material from the assignment.  I have taken the idea of the videos being a great tool to tie ideas and concepts together away from this project.  The second skit could not have worked out more perfectly with its timing.  It pulled together all the essential information (SOL!!!) from a week’s worth of lessons.  I was lucky in the fact that my cooperating teacher stayed very much involved with the class during the student teaching.  The question was brought to my attention on what I would have done if I didn’t have her to watch over the class while I filmed each group out in the hallway.  One idea I thought of was to bring the class to the library and do filming in one section while students are working on their projects in another, but under the close eyes of the librarians.  Another idea is to have the students take the flip and film themselves doing these videos.  That would be a good solution, and I did consider it, but I guess I was too nervous about giving up a sense of control to the students. If I was shooting the films, I still had a bit of control and guidance over the final products.  Overall, it was a great experience working with my students in order to complete this project.

Leave a comment